Verizon Wireless Supports Hurricane Isaac Relief With Text-To-Donate Campaign

Verizon Wireless has implemented a mobile giving program, enabling customers to contribute to relief and recovery efforts supporting communities affected by Hurricane Isaac.  Customers can use their mobile phones to make $10 donations to aid the American Red Cross in responding to the needs of citizens in the aftermath of the hurricane.

Customers can make a $10 donation by simply texting REDCROSS to 90999.  Those interested in giving more can donate up to five times their original donation.  For example, customers making a $10 donation can give up to $50.

Verizon Wireless waives text messaging fees for disaster relief and 100 percent of each donation goes to American Red Cross relief efforts.

To read more details click through.

NJ Department Of Children And Families Partners With Verizon’s Hopeline To Provide Wireless Phones To Victims Of Domestic Violence

Domestic violence can happen to anyone, and providing support and services to the victims takes on many forms.The New Jersey Department of Children and Families (DCF) is partnering with HopeLine from Verizon, a national cell phone recycling and re-use program that turns no-longer-used wireless phones into support for victims of domestic violence.

For more information on the Hopeline program please click through.

Safe Drivers Act Of 2011

Representative Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY) recently introduced the Safe
Drivers Act of 2011
(H.R. 2333), which will require the U.S.
Department of Transportation to study the impact of in-vehicle
wireless phone use and recommend legislative activity based on the findings.
Peter Davidson, Verizon Senior Vice President of federal government
relations said, “We applaud Rep. McCarthy for introducing the Safe
Drivers Act of 2011. While mobile devices bring great benefits to
Americans’ lives, they must be used responsibly while driving. We’re
pleased that Congresswoman McCarthy is championing this public safety
measure, and we fully support her efforts to enact the Safe Drivers
Act of 2011.”